Heat Wave!

This is a special post, dedicated to those of you who’ve been shivering in the chill of a Northern Hemisphere winter, shovelling snow, and/or kvetching about it being less than balmy in places like Miami.

Today it was 43 degrees Fahrenheit.

No, that’s not a typo. I didn’t forget the minus sign. Not just above zero, not just above freezing, but 43 miserable degrees.

Two seals (left foreground) enjoy the sun and heat, chilling out (no pun intended) on the sea ice. What do they care about the ominous cracks (center) that are appearing?

Our room was sweltering, even with the heat turned off (we’re on the top floor of a building with a roof that enjoys absorbing sunlight). People were walking around outside in t-shirts.

From the Hut Point Ridge Trail... the first time I did this hike, the slopes were entirely snow-covered and there was definitely no slushy mix of sea ice and open water along the shoreline! The island in the middle of the photo, by the way, does not exist. It's a Fata Morgana mirage.

I had a day off, so I hiked Hut Point Ridge… in just my windpants (as in windbreaker pants, not windmaker, for the more juvenile among you who need such clarification…) and a fleece shirt. No hat, no jacket. And I still overheated.

Skua (left foreground) standing watch on the trail

I was thinking about traveling around Australia when I got off the Ice at the end of the season, but now I’m thinking I might need to be airlifted directly to Greenland, bypassing the lower latitudes altogether.

Skua strikes a badass pose (they are not capable of any other kind)

I think the Wicked Witch of the West said it best: Help me, I’m melting!

The thin blue line on the horizon may not look like much, but I'll tell you what it is... open water. When I arrived in August, the sea ice extended for hundreds of miles. Now its edge is less than 20 miles away, and getting closer all the time.

 

One thought on “Heat Wave!

Leave a Reply

