Nothing Feels As Final As Filling Out A Form

One week from today, I’m supposed to have my current room, my home for the past year, cleaned and set up for the four people who will soon move into it. I have to move, too, though I am waiting to hear from our housing folks about my new room assignment. A couple days ago, I had to fill out a Housing Preference form for WinFly, the period between a couple “Winter Flight” planes and MainBody, the start of October, when all the summer people come and the last of us WinterOvers go.

It was the form that made it all sink in. I’ve been in Antarctica just shy of a year (I arrived 16 August, 2010), and in two months and four days, I’ll be leaving. To where and to do what, I don’t know so stop asking, okay? Okay!? (Yes, I’m a little irritable on the topic.)

Two weeks from today, the first WinFly flight arrives, and the first batch of WinterOvers leave, including one of my favorite co-workers. During the ten day WinFly period, all but four of the galley crew will leave, and hordes of new people, or at least returning summer people will arrive. (Hordes may be a slight exaggeration, but it’s nice working in our huge kitchen with never more than four or five people sharing the space.)

There will be mail and freshies for WinFly–yay!–but then nothing till October.

Meanwhile, the entire sky today was a pinkish lavender when I took out the recycling. We’re gaining several minutes of near-light a day, and for much of the late morning and early afternoon, our world is bathed in a beautiful ultramarine blue light, not quite bright as day but not night, either. The sun won’t rise for another 11 days, but, like WinFly and the summer hordes and my departure date, it’s coming.

I should be cleaning my room, the room that soon will not be mine. I should be packing up boxes I mean to send, organizing my stuff, sorting through what I’ll keep and what will end up in Skua, our version of Goodwill. I should be making decisions about my post-Ice life.

Instead, I am taking a break from reading Angela’s Ashes, to lazily (and pointlessly) surf London real estate while listening to Piers Morgan interview Lisa Kudrow, an actress I never really thought about but now find totally fascinating.

3 thoughts on “Nothing Feels As Final As Filling Out A Form

  1. Hi. I don’t know you but I have been reading your blog since June when I decided to take a chance and try something new by applying to become a dispatcher on the Ice. I’ll be arriving on the second Winfly plane.

    I don’t know you, I don’t know if I will have a chance to talk to you when I get there, but I thank you for everything you have done and written about while being down there. It has helped me with the endless questions I have on what there is to do, how things work…so on and so on. See you in a few weeks.

    Tori

  2. Aw shucks, Tori, thanks!! And congratulations! I think you will love it here as much as I do if you remember it *is* a special place with its own set of rules. If you think of it as a cross between the ice planet Hoth and Mordor you’ll be fine 🙂

    Are you going to be a firehouse dispatcher? They are a really good crew and a lot of fun, so I think you’ll enjoy working with them. Give Jay as much crap as possible, especially about his Boston accent. He really likes that ;-P

    I would be happy to answer any lingering questions you have (if I can). I’m here till Oct. 10 so I’m sure we’ll run into each other. Feel free to stick your head in the kitchen and say hello at any time.

  3. Pingback: Home Sweet Gulag « Stories That Are True

Leave a Reply

